Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Tax Recipients at DOJ AG Awards Ceremony

This item is from a PR Newswire here. I have cut and paste the items relevant to DOJ Tax:

Attorney General Eric Holder recognizes 247 department employees for their distinguished public service today at the 57th Annual Attorney General Awards Ceremony. Thirty-nine other individuals outside of the department are also honored for their work. Held at DAR Constitution Hall, this annual ceremony recognizes both department employees and others for their dedication to carrying out the Department of Justice's mission.

The John Marshall Award for Trial of Litigation is also presented to the team that litigated AWG Leasing Trust v. United States, the first case to go to trial involving the abusive sale in/lease out tax shelter. Recipients include, from the Department of Justice's Tax Division, Civil Trial Section, Southern Region Assistant Chief Angelo A. Frattarelli; from the Northern Region, Trial Attorneys Robert Kovacev, Matthew Von Schuch and Karen Smith.

Another John Marshall Award for Participation in Litigation is awarded to, from the Department of Justice Tax Division, Office of the Assistant Attorney General Kevin M. Downing, Senior Level Trial Attorney; Michael P. Ben'Ary, Trial Attorney, Northern Criminal Enforcement Section; Frank P. Cihlar, Trial Attorney, Criminal Appeals and Tax Enforcement Policy Section; and from the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Southern District of Florida, Jeffrey A. Neiman, Assistant U.S. Attorney. This team is recognized for their outstanding work in negotiating the deferred prosecution agreement with UBS, the largest bank in Switzerland and one of the largest worldwide.

UPDATE: For the Main Justice web page on this see here.